個案分析

XResearch艾克斯研究聯盟:
重思研究

EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES:
ETHIOPIA

我們面對的狀況

我們發現,近年來有越來越多科學家不滿於傳統研究系統的諸多侷限。許多人構思出優異的計畫,卻面對規模上以及資源上的限制。此外,非傳統或非主流的提案不容易取得資金,但可能往往是最創新的。這是有礙科學發展的現象。

我們相信,利用大數據分析及群眾外包等新科技,我們能夠找到方法執行這些拿不到資金的大規模研究計畫,但這將需要規模不同以往的跨產業合作以及群眾外包。然而,大多數公民不大了解科學研究、其流程,甚至成就。雖然學術研究幫助的就是社會大眾 ,學術界與大眾間卻有此鴻溝。借助公民科學──在科學研究上實踐公民參與及公民合作──的力量,我們期待讓大眾能一起促進健康科學的發展。

我們的目標

吸引大眾進行科研對話、提高其參與健康科學的意願。

發現資助研究的新模式。

召集傳統上不被認為與某種研究相關的領域專家,以組成創新的跨學科合作計畫。

什麼是XResearch艾克斯研究聯盟

XResearch艾克斯研究聯盟由Kiipo與哈佛大學、麻省理工及波士頓大學的教授合作成立,希望能創造執行研究的嶄新方法。XResearch的計畫由哈佛醫學院動態生物標記中心(Center for Dynamical Biomarkers)領導,集結世界各地具前瞻性思維的專家及組織,一同展開大規模健康和醫學研究。以公民科學為宗旨,我們期望能讓大眾能一起促進健康科學的發展。

更多資訊

想要了解更多,請至XResearch官網 https://xresearch.co

CASE STUDY

XRESEARCH COALITION:
RETHINKING RESEARCH

EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES:
ETHIOPIA

WHAT WE FACED

Over the years, we’ve noticed a growing frustration among scientists with some of the limitations posed by the traditional research system. Many scientists out there have these great ideas for projects, but many of them too grand in scale, with too little resources. Furthermore, unconventional or non-mainstream proposals are unlikely to be funded. This is not good for science as those unfunded proposals often have the potential to be the most innovative ones.

We believed that using new technologies, from big data analytics to crowdsourcing, we could find a way to carry out these unfunded large-scale research projects. But doing so would require cross-industry collaboration and crowdsourcing on a new scale. However, the truth is most citizens don’t know very much about scientific research; the process, or even the results. This creates a disconnect in society between the academics who are doing the research, and the public, the people it is supposed to be helping. In harnessing the power of Citizen Science, the practice of public participation and collaboration in scientific research, we could look to empower everyday people to contribute in moving health science forward.

OUR GOALS

1.

Engage everyday citizens in the dialogue of science and research and instill a greater thirst for participating in health science.

2.

Find new ways to fund research.

3.

Find new, innovative multidisciplinary collaborations by bringing together the experts of different fields not traditionally associated with research.

WHAT IS THE XRESEARCH COALITION

The XResearch Coalition was founded by Kiipo in tandem with professors from Harvard, MIT, and Boston University in the hopes of creating a new way to do research. Led by Harvard Medical School’s Center for Dynamical Biomarkers, XResearch projects bring together various forward-thinking experts and organizations from across the world to collectively conduct large-scale health and medical research. In the spirit of Citizen Science, we look to empower everyday people to collaborate and participate in moving health science forward.

LEARN MORE

Visit XResearch’s website at https://xresearch.co